With the increasing use and development of new technology, many machines are new able to do the work which people used to perform. What are advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

In this fast-changing world, some work which people used to do are substituted by modern technology due to the omnipresence of technology. In my opinion, I believe this comes with both benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, I am convinced that the way machines replaced some human work brings several advantages. The first and foremost benefit is the increasing of productivity. Machines usually enhance productivity, as they can work longer hours and are not vulnerable by some specific factors such as emotions, diseases or personal issues. For instance, when humans suffer from health problems, they are not able to work, while technology can still operate effetively without challenges. Therefore, organisations or companies can achieve a higher productivity thanks to new technology. Secondly, people can strike a balance between work and life due to technology. When machines support human in completing tasks and meeting the deadline, human will have more free time which can be allocated to time for family, friends or leisure activities. This minimises the risk of burnout and depression which are often the consequences of excessive workload.

On the other hand, I think that this trend also comes with its set of risks. One of the most pressing issue when technology substitutes for humans is unemployment. When machines are able to humans work, some organisations and companies may reduce the number of recruits. As a result, many young people will face unemployment, especially in this heighten competition of finding jobs in today’s labour market. Another problem is excessive reliance on technology. There is a likelihood of over-reliance on technlogy, as humans do not have to do these tasks. Thus, when technology goes wrong, people many struggle with these tasks and work. It impacts directly on productivity and progress of those organisations.

In conclusion, it seems to me that human replacement by machines in some work helps boost productivity and foster work-life balance, while it results in unemployment and over-reliance on technology. People need to improve their own knowledge in order not to left behind in this constantly changing world.