With the rise of e-book comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are advantages and disadvantages of this?

With the increase in popularity of e-books among people comes the inevitable demise of traditional books. Although e-books can be beneficial in terms of convenience and the preservation of literature, there are also drawbacks to be taken into account.

On the one hand, there are several advantages to the use of e-books. Firstly, many people consider them to be more convenient. This is due to the fact that they are easily accessible in different formats and on different devices, such as smartphones, tablets, and computers. Amazon, for example, has a large library of digital books from different genres that come in both text and audio formats. Secondly, digitalizing books can help us in preserving them. Old paper books, for instance, will naturally deteriorate with time because paper is a biologically degradable material. The Internet Archive Library is a prime example of turning traditional books into a digital format, which helps in saving thousands of books from being lost forever.

On the other hand, there are evident disadvantages to the rise of e-books. One problem is that they do not provide the same sentimental value as paper books. Reading enthusiasts prefer holding traditional books, smelling the paper, and flipping pages. This leads to an emotional attachment to them, which cannot be replicated by digital books. Another important issue is that some people can find it difficult to find and use e-books. Since senior citizens are not tech savvy and usually struggle with technology, they prefer to use traditional books. Considering that it is required to have some sort of technological knowledge to be able to navigate websites and download the desired content.

In conclusion, while there are obvious advantages to the rise of e-books, the lack of sentimental value and the difficulty to use them among a certain demographic must be considered.