With the rise of online education, some predict traditional universities will become obsolete. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What might be the unintended consequences of such a shift?

The rapid growth of technology has turned online education into a more reliable option, which decreases the value of traditional universities to some people. The variety of courses, time flexibility, less cost needed, and efficiency has turned online education as the better replacement. Some traditional universities that avoids this transformation might risk the number of students applying to their place on the next term.

Although some might prefer studying from home for its benefits, attending a physical university while meeting classmates, having real face-to-face discussions, and just being physically present will result differently. It takes a huge commitment and drive to learn from an online class, because every assignment, presentations, and any academic related tasks is an individual responsibility. Which will be suitable for workers, or people who have other businesses that disables them from following a certain uniformed schedule. Thus, I believe that an on-site class is needed by those who needs a motivation to learn and have less packed schedules, where they can fit to the university’s plan.

The social interaction that usually happens while attending university might not be felt by those who only go to online classes, which could be a bigger problem in the future due to the decreasing social skills. Moreover, learning to have a routine to follow may be important for the future, especially if the student is planning to work in formal corporate.

However, the case might be different for each person and this shift could be a life-saver for people who wants to study but doesn’t have the ability or will to leave their house. More chances are available for those who are not as lucky, both financially and physically.

In conclusion, I believe that attending physical university is important, but online classes will help a lot of people to get the same level of education by following their own way of living.