With the rise of online education platforms, traditional brick-and-mortar universities may become obsolete. Are the advantages of accessible and affordable online learning more significant than the disadvantages of losing the traditional campus experience?

Entering university is often seen as a rite of passage, to prove or test that the teenagers are ready for the real world. Removing the nesesscity of attending the university in person, makes it cheaper and more afforable to low-income families. However, it also takes away the advantages the offline programs offer, such as a safe place to experience the world away from parents, to learn responsiblity, and balance.

Firstly, attending university in person allows people to make genuine connections, and face situations in a controlled environment. This allows them to gain connections, confidence and raise their self-esteem, which will allow them to perform better in other stages of life. In contrast, attending online courses for a degree might have a chance to make connections for life, although it is very unlikely because students won’t know the intentions the other person has approached them with.

On the other hand, online courses reduce the cost of university allowing almost everyone to get a degree. It also allows the person to attend for different countries. This means there will be more educated people available for jobs and they can study while they work, since they do not need to be present physically.

In conclusion, while online courses offer a range of advantages from cost reduction to removing the need to travel, since it doesn’t offer what the kids really need, which is experience and a safe place to understand the world, it alone isn’t enough. Thus, it would be better if the it was a hybird course for teens, who are leaving their parents and experencing the world without them for the first time, to have a course which enables them and at the same time is not too expensive.