With the rise of personalized medicine and genetic testing, some argue that individuals should have complete access to their own genetic data, even without a doctor's interpretation. Others believe this could lead to unnecessary anxiety and self-treatment. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Personalized medicines, where treatment is based on people genetic information, is becoming more popular in modern world. Eventhough this practice invloves several risk elements such as anxiety and discrimination by employers and insurance companies, I believe its positive side outweigh the risks as long as strong regulations and controls are implemented by the government and heatlhcare authorities.

First and foremost, there are important concerns about person’s privacy as genetic informations are very personal. If such details are stored online databases, it is very prone to be leaked or hacked, without permission. This could cause a serious trouble for the person. Additionally, providing complete access to individuals genetic data can lead to discrimnations by the employers, as they start hiring on the basis of genetics, which would be a serious problem. Insurance companies also use these informations which would increase the health insurance premium for the individuals.

On the contrary, personalized medicines can improve the healthcare in multiple ways. One of the main advantages is the doctors can choose the best medical care based on the people genetics. The treatment required for each people can vary individual to individual. By knowing the genetical details, doctors can provide efficient and effective medical services by avoidng trial and error. Secondly, since there is less chance to receive unwanted treatments, side effects caused by inappropriate medicines could also be minimized. For instance, some people are very sensitive to anti-biotics due to their genetics.

According to my opinion, all the risks involved in providing access to genetical date can be reduced if the giverment authorities impose strong regulations. SInce the benefits outweigh the negetive sides, authorities should take necessary steps to protect genetic informations and provide access only to authorized personnels. There should be also strong actions against insurance companies who charge extra premiums or employers who discrimanate individuals based on their genetics.

To conclude, although personalized medicines can create serious privacy issues and discriminations, I believe the advantages side is more important. With proper controls and regulations, it can help to improve the medical care and save the lives of people.