With the rise of remote work, more individuals are choosing to live in rural or secluded areas. Although this could stimulate local economies and reduce urban congestion, it may also strain infrastructure and services in these less populated regions. Do the advantages of relocating to remote areas outweigh the disadvantages?

With the rise of remote work, many people nowadays prefer to live in rural areas rather than the city. I for one understand and respect the opinions of others but I don’t agree with it, I attribute it to the simple fact that nearly everything is more tedious.

More and more people are leaving the city to a live a quieter life in a rural area. In a recent case conducted in 2025 studies have shown that 55% of recent migrators to the country side regret it. Now there could be a lot of reasons of why that is, one of them is hassle that it adds on. There will be less luxuries, in the sense that you won’t be able to order from your favorite resturaunt, or find a convienient store near you. Adding on to the previous point is the loss of face to face connection between friends, because most people won’t just move to the country just because you’re moving there. This can end up breaking lifelong relationships between tight knit friendgroups, who have been together since as long as they can remember.

There are a lot of counter arguments to this, it includes: a more in independent lifestyle, a closer family bond. While that is definately true, it does come with a lot of unaccounted nuisances, as you truly don’t know how easily your family is going to acclimate to new surroundings. Changing from the loud and always lively city, to a quiet country side can eary, and won’t always bring solace.

To recap my stance, I truly believe that most city folks who decide to move to the rural side will most likely face a lot of difficulties, and will not be what they envisioned.