With the rise of remote work, some companies are considering eliminating physical offices entirely. What are the potential benefits and drawbacks of a company operating without a central office location? Is this a trend that will continue in the future?

In recent years, some of the enterprises are considering switching their work routines to completely remote mode, aiming to drop the number of real offices to null. While the number of expenses to maintain real estate will be diminished which is efficient for employers, a sense of teamwork and team alignment might result in real pain for them.

On the one hand, it seems that remote working is a win-win situation for both sides, employees can execute tasks without being pinned to a particular place on the earth, and company can fully be free from renting costly properties, along with switching the focus from just administrating to work execution. To be fair, this kind of relationship is the most beneficial in modern society since both sides are focusing more on their tasks. For example, let’s imagine a new startup with remote working, it is going to be true that while personnel are locked in on the tasks the firm assigned, the CEO will be more caring about his own product development rather than paying the bills for electricity. Thus, working remotely can benefit in terms of finances and project management, through lowering stress levels which are associated with the workplace.

On the other hand, this type of modern job could lead to poor team alignment and lack of real world communication. Most of the co-workers in the traditional offices bring more than just small talks about how the job is going, they bring a sense of community and ordinary joy. Working from the home for instance, could be morally hard for neurotypicals and generally for every normal social being. How can bosses be deprived of talking and joking with their developers team? Or how will the workers unwind outside of work and maintain the same post work colleague gatherings? In the end, maybe work is not only about achieving goals of the company which is being run by the person you will never know in-person…

In conclusion, working remotely can be advantageous if the company is task and economy efficiency oriented, and disadvantage if the company is less about just building a billion worth silicon company, and more about the people. That is why the trend of remote working is unpredictable, because it all depends on the company’s interests in the specific time.