With the rise of remote work, more individuals are choosing to live in rural or secluded areas. Although this could stimulate local economies and reduce urban congestion, it may also strain infrastructure and services in these less populated regions. Do the advantages of relocating to remote areas outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advancements of recent technology, more citizens have been moving to live in rural areas. Critics may say that this can considerably reduce the stress for cities where others see this as another threat towards the environment. However, this essay strongly believes that these shifts’ pros are completely outweighed the cons which will be later discussed in this essay.

One major disadvantage caused from these migration is that environmental areas such as forests will be massively destroyed. These deforestations must be happened to make space for housing and areas. According to a research conducted by Yale univerisity in 2016 stated that nearly 37% of American forestry areas were cut down. This can later lead to more complicating issues such as global warming due to lack of trees to absorb greenhouse gases. However, this essay thinks that with the availability of state-to-the-art gadgets, not only will these problems are solved, but also reduce the pressure for cities.

On the other hand, a significant advantage is gained for city centers where they will later experience less pressure. Due to the convenience of city centers have at the moment, if more people kept moving homes to the cities, then one day the cities would turn into unorganized slums. Overcrowding would cause more problematic issues that just environmental crises such as lack of hygienic access. Also according to that research above, it also pointed out that people’s water and electricity bills had been reduced by approximately 10% since the big supply of water was almost guaranteed when people are moving out of the city. These movings greatly benefits the countries’ development because people are spreaded out equally.

In conclusion, while lots of forests are cut down to make space for accomodation and other purposes, reducing the stress in cities still outweighs that big drawback.