With the serious problems our planet is facing, more people have become interested in the idea of exploring other planets. Some see it as the solution to all of our problems and the future of mankind, while others see it as a waste of money on dreamy solutions

With the serious problems our planet is facing, more people have become interested in the idea of exploring other planets. Some see it as the solution to all of our problems and the future of mankind, while others see it as a waste of money on dreamy solutions. We will discuss both positions in this essay.

The idea of exploring other planets is indeed fascinating, especially when you try to imagine the infinite number of possibilites of what we can find. Finding another survivable planet would mean more food, water, energy, riches and resources in general, which would probably enhance the lifestyle of millions if not billions of people. It may also be a solution to many of the military conflicts between countries which arose over a certain part of land or over of some riches.

However, despite the allure of finding new planets, spending public money chasing this dream might not be the most reasonable decision. Especially when taking into consideration that until now there is no clear evidence of life existence on other planets. While I don’t believe spending money and effort on space exploration is exactly a waste, but it definitly is not the safest option especially when it comes with the cost of addressing existing solvable problems like unemployment for example. Some people even sees the billions spent on space-exploration as gambling with public money or even a form of escaping responsibility of fixing society problems.

To conclude, while exploring space is an extremely exciting idea, I believe governments should take a more reasonable approach by excerting more effort to solve the pressing issues we are facing, instead of simply trying to escape them.