working hours should be shorter and long weekends. do you agree or disagree

There is an everlasting debate on the working hours and days, which discusses the suitability of the current weekly working hours and weekends. I seem to believe that the current system and legislation are ideal to the present time, as they may offer high productivity and avoid increasing the financial burden on the government or the private sector.

Most countries follow the five plus two system( which is five working days and two weekends), with almost all of them having laws and regulations in regards to the weekly working hours This system can have a better productivity whether in the quality and the quantity, as the ordinary 8 hours per day doesn’t put a lot of strain on the workers, hence it doesn’t affect their performance.

Another benefit is that increasing the weekends may actually lead to an extra expenditure on the country or the private sector, and the reason is that the weekend are considered totally paid in the law, so the government and companies Is obligated to pay for its employees during them. Eventually, as the profits decline due to lesser production, many workers may find themselves terminated. This adds an extra toll on the country which may need to provide these families with monthly unemployment payments.

In spite that the other point of view offers good reasoning behind their belief ,such as more social time with the family and friends may elevate the worker’s mood, that can reflect on him having a better performance overall, its disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with this proposal, as the current working hours and weekends constantly proved to deliver higher productivity and lesser expenses on both the public and private sectors.