write about 3 possible way for getting your bachelor degree

What should I study? Many students graduating from Secondary school are concerned about this question. Choosing a profession, a country and applying to a dream university is a difficult task. In this essay I am going to talk about 3 options for my university degree: Architecture degree, medical degree and Environmental Science Degree.

First of all, I have always been interested in architecture, so I chose a bachelor’s degree in architecture as my first and most desired path. I studied for 8 years at an art school and I aim for a higher education at a university in Sweden. According to U.S. News & World Report L.P. (2024), Umea University is ranked as the 9th best university in Sweden, which tells us about the high standard of teaching at this institution. The Umea School of Architecture is a department within Umea University. “Architecture is an interdisciplinary subject and is related to the design of the living environment” (Umeå School of Architecture, n.d.) For admission to this university one needs a portfolio, a letter of motivation, a high school diploma, and a language test. At the moment, I do not fulfil these requirements as I have not yet finished school and passed the language test. However, step by step these criteria will be fulfilled and I will be attending UMA.

Studying art history, I was fascinated by the artist Leonardo Da Vinci, who back in the 15th century proved that art and medicine are interconnected. “The knife is not for pressing. It is for drawing across the field of skin” (Richard Selze, 1974, p 92). This quote inspired me to think about getting a medical degree and becoming a surgeon. Perhaps, medicine is what I would like to devote myself to if I don’t succeed in the field of architecture. According to U.S. News & World Report L.P(2024), Sweden ranks the 3rd in the world rating for health-consciousness. Hence the country places great emphasis on medical education. The best university in Sweden to study medicine is Karolinska Institute. For admission to this university it is necessary to provide a high school diploma, completed courses similar to upper secondary school courses: Mathematics 4, Biology 2, Chemistry 2, English (IELTS, TOEFL). Before applying, I need to study hard in the subjects mentioned above and get a high score in the language exam. I am glad I have an alternative career like that.

However, we should not forget that we have to take care not only of human health, but also of the environment. Sweden, according to U.S. News World Report L.P. (2024) is the second most environmentally conscious country in the world. In 1967 it was the first country to pass a law on environmental protection and in 1972 it held the first UN conference on global ecology. From this we can conclude that this country is one of the best countries for getting education in this field and creating green programs. I would like to become an environmental data scientist if I don’t succeed in my two aforementioned jobs. This profession requires a degree in environmental science, which can be obtained in the Ecotechnology programme at Mid Sweden University. “The Ecotechnology programme at Mid Sweden University will give you a broad systems perspective on the relationship between environment, society and the natural resources of our planet” (Studyportals B.V., 2007-2024) A high school diploma, proof of English language proficiency and a copy of passport are required for admission. I think this speciality can also benefit our world.

In my essay I have discussed three University Degree options: Architectural, Medical and Environmental Science Degree. Each of them will help me to discover certain abilities and achieve professional goals. And ,to summarize, I would like to add that choosing a profession is a long and difficult path, which only you will choose for yourself, according to your dreams and aspirations. That is why I have chosen these three areas as they suit me.