Write about the following topic. Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Innovation has taken the world by storm and the world is changing at a faster pace nowadays. In this ever-changing world, another hot topic to debate is that whether traditions should be followed or should be discarded in favour of innovation and more importantly which approach holds brighter future. This essay will discuss both sides and will examine the role of norms in our society. I’ll also share why I believe traditions should be followed but not blindly.

Those who are in the favour of following traditions advocate that these customs are suggested by our ancestors and holds solutions for problems that humanity is not even aware of, hence entitled as pieces of wisdom. Therefore, not following them might have negative effects in the long run. Putting the glasses in inverted position after washing, for instance, makes sure that no insects gets in there before the next use. Moreover, the fact that these customs are developed and enriched over years, hence offer a more effective solutions suggest to follow them.

Conversely, modren people think that traditions are stories of past and the problems they address does not even exist today. For example, it is safe to put glasses in their actual position since in todays world, people cover them with tray or some piece of plastic preventing it against entry of insects. Furthermore, few traditions of the past are based on narrow-minded thinking of our ancestors suggesting to refrain from following them. The superiority of men over woment, for instance, is a concept of past.

Traditions play important part in our lives as these are our manuals to deal with different kinds of situations arising every new day in our society. For example, it tells us that we should celebrate on marraige and offer condolences on someone’s death. Likewise, there are other important events in life that otherwise will put humanity into thinking for hours such as what should we do with the deadbody. Hence, I strongly believe that one should follow customs but not blindly. Instead, one should put careful thoughts before following them.

In conclusion, traditions and norms play vital role in one’s life. Despite their crucial role in our society, I think careful consideration of their consequences is required.