Write about the following topic. Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Nowadays, the continuous technological advancements have played an important role in our daily lives, contributing to society’s progress in a lot of sectors. Despite the significance of innovation, it should be mentioned that traditions are crucial in keeping alive our relations with the past.

First of all, traditions are one of the main characteristics of a country’s identity. They remind us of the past and they are a part of a nation’s culture and history. For example, greek easter traditions or carnevals are unique in such way that they attract tourists every year to visit our country. As a result, they contribute to our country’s financial growth. At the same time, some traditions improve our difficult daily routines by providing an escape from our responsibilities. For instance, during carnevals, people tend to spend their time gathering with their friends, wearing costumes and forget about their personal difficulties and potential obstacles that burden their daily routine.

On the other hand, besides the importance of taditions, it should be noted that without innovation, there wouldn’t be progress in many sectors of our life. Specifically, the innovative methods that are created in the healthcare sector, have increased life expectancy rates compared to the past. Furthermore, technological innovations have facilitated transportation and communication around the world, creating more job opportunities and thus reducing unemployment rates. Providing that, innovation is crucial for the future, as it keeps solving problems which were questionnable in the past.

To summarise, both traditions and innovations should be considered essential for society’s growth and continuity. We should be encouraging innovations for a better future, while maintaining our country’s traditions.