Write about the following topic: Big salary is much more important than job satisfaction. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is a common school of thought that salary is the key consideration when choosing a career. As far as I am concerned, I disagree with this view because I hold the view that there are other factors which equal the significance.

For a variety of reasons, it is undeniable that money plays an indispensable role in everyone’s life. By definition, life is not all moonlights and roses so that people have to make ends meet in order to afford housing bills ,healthcare services, leisure pursuits and so on. If people’s choice of profession is based on enjoyment or non-financial factors, they cannot fend for themselves as well as take care of their family members. Take artists and musicians as an example, there are a lot of people whose choices of career are related to their passion, and not everyone is fortunate and talented enough to acquire a reputation to become successful. To those who failed in following their dreams, as a result, might struggle to earn a living and live a deprived life, which not only can have a negative impact on themselves but also their family members.

Although money is vital when considering a job, I believe that it is not everything. Firstly, the work environment, according to some scientific studies, has a huge impact on the productivity and prospects of employees. For example, while being in an open-minded and supportive working environment, workers can possibly enhance their communication, cooperation and occupational skill and as a result have a tendency to increase their productivity. Additionally, another crucial factor is job satisfaction. If a person chooses a job because of its financial rewards and neglecting his own emotions, this might lead to burn-out or even more serious, depression. For this reason, I believe that people should also deliberate over their mental health when choosing a job.

All things considered, notwithstanding money is a vital tool in daily life, people should also be concerned about other equal factors such as mental health and work environment when thinking about choices of jobs.