Write about the following topic: In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects. Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Travel and tourism play an important role in a country’s economy. Certain countries extensively depend on tourism and hence offer eclectic tourist spots. Tourism also aids the local market and business. However, it causes excessive exploitation of the fauna and flora.

India is well renowned for rich culture, heritage, and history. As a result, in the recent years, there is a significant increase in the percentage of foreign travellers who visit India. This has lead to a favourable economical condition amidst the local vendors. Apart from sellers and vendors, local guides present in the historical monuments are greatly benifited. In addition, India is also famous for its delicacies. As a result, there exist a great demand for Indian food in the global market. Therefore, the hotel business is also majorly benifited. Moreover, Indian government utilizes the money received from the foreign visitors to enhance the living standards of poor and needy people present in the country. Initiatives have been taken to offer house for the homeless people. Furthermore, the fund collected is also used to maintain and improve the monuments.

Despite these advantages, global tourism has led to surge in traffic and over crowding in public places. This deteriorates the environment drastically. As a result, there is an alarming increase in the pollution. Also, some tourists deliberately vandalize the historical buildings.

In summary, the advantages of global tourism cannot be gainsaid. But at the same time, it should not rupture the environment. However because of the wide range of benefits it offer, it manages to rationalise its drawbacks.