Write about the following topic: In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there is a debate over what kind of path a young teen should take after graduating high school. In a few parts of the world, a majority of young adults choose to partake in on-the-job training compared to enrolling in university. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this issue.

To start with, the benefit of having vocational training instead of furthering your education is that you are granted valuable working experiences that you would not get had you attended university instead. These experiences can help young people tremendously when applying for a job because it means they have the necessary skills needed to survive in the workplace environment. Not only that, but the hands-on lessons they get while training might serve as an upper hand when deciding who is qualified for the job.

However, the downside is that the lack in degree might hinder potential candidates from getting the position they want. A lot of workplaces nowadays, especially business firms, require potential workers to have a minimum degree when applying for jobs. This may cause problems for young adults who have only basic work training on their resumes. The lack of academic qualifications might lead to firms denying their applications, even with a respectable working experience.

In conclusion, most young people have the decision to either pursue a degree at university or attend job-based training instead. While the latter might provide them with useful working skills and experiences, without the former, it could lead to hardships when applying for work later on. Therefore, in my opinion, the younger generations should weigh this matter carefully as the result will ultimately will decide the fate of their lives.