Write about the following topic: In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that there is a growing tendency for younger generations to prioritise vocational training over third-level education. This essay will prove that despite it having benefits such as working experience, the drawbacks of this, such as a lack of professional knowledge and risks of unstable income, outweigh the possible advantages.

The main problem with selecting an apprenticeship over higher education would be the lost opportunity of gaining professional theory and a certified diploma for the chosen job. In a capitalistic world, most companies offering pleasing work places still require tertiary education as one of the main crit eria to pick candidates. For instance, in Kazakhstan, the rate of unemployment among post-graduates is lower by 5% compared to the ones who did not attend university. Moreover, another disadvantage is recorded to be the absence of a guarantee to achieve a successful career while receiving training in the workplace. Meanwhile, in most cases, colleges advise graduates to partner with companies. An example would be, the Ivy League schools employing their alumni to worldwide corporations through actively lobbying their candidacy.

Even though it is stated that on-the-job training allows participants to increase needed working skills, it is not unique with the identical ability to obtain workplace background after graduating from the institution. A clear example of this would be the effective internships in Big 4 firms, which are five times more common among school graduates.

In conclusion, in spite of the fact that in-service training offers a wide range of accessible experience, the deficit of higher knowledge that leads to higher threats of joblessness and the danger of an unsecured working career certainly outshine the potential profit.