Write about the following topic: 'It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.' Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is often said that every non-native person should know something about customs and culture of the country they are living in. They say that it is necessary for them to integrate into society in a better way, also they grow to appreciate and respect local heritage in this learning process.

The key benefit of learning about native customs and history is that it enables foreigners to assimilate into society completely. Not only does it help with integration into local community, but also it broadens the opportunities for employment. This is due to the fact that the knowledge about local traditions can help individuals to form new relationships and to network. As a result of it, the probability of settling down without any difficulties becomes very high. For instance, a majority of sectors, especially medical, tourism and hospitality, sales and marketing, social work, and public administration, demand familiarity with local culture.

Moreover, people who move to a different country to live in face many psychological challenges as well. This is mainly because humans are social animals, and they struggle emotionally when they are socially isolated. However, it can easily be avoided if people familiarize themselves with the history and culture of the country they moved in. Another benefit of it is that it informs immigrants about the sensitive and pressing issues of society. This way they accidentally do not disrespect common public’s sentiments, or hurt someone’s feelings un-intentionally.

In conclusion, it is important for immigirants to educate themselves in the basic history and culture of the country they shifted to. It offers immense benefits to such individuals from starting a new life to finding suitable employment, and finally it will help them to integrate into society without any difficulty.