Write about the following topic: 'It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.' Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is vital for immigrants to understand the traditions and norms of their host nation. This is true as it will foster encourage unity between them and their host community and enhance their personal growth and values.

First and foremost, it is important that people living in a foreign country know a lot about that country, this is to enable better connection and unity with the indigenes. That is to say, when foreign individuals understand the norms and traditions of their host society they would be able to connect and assimilate them. For instance, when I travelled to Enugu, I learnt their culture, dressed like them and ate their food and in less than no time I was accepted as one of them.

Furthermore, learning the history and culture of community when abroad can broaden one’s horizons.

In essence, no one can grow and develop as an island, and as such, undertanding the principles and life values of different community than the one of their birth can can widen their understanding of life and benefit them personally. To illustrate this, when I went to Benin for the first time I learnt innumerable lessons from the people about life and how spiritual growth. This has lead me to believe that undertanding the traditions of a foreign populace when abroad is key to interpersonal development.

In conclusion, there are many benefits to knowing aabout the history and culture of a people when living with them. Some of which include, truly becoming one with the host society and the improvement of the individual’s values.