Write about the following topic: 'It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.' Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

A country is identified by its history and culture. Because of this, it is important that immigrants know about these two before they migrate to a foreign land. Knowing the history of a place will help immigrants understand the attitude and personality of the locals, and having studied the culture will help them adapt to local behavior.

The history of a country shapes the mindset of its people, because there are many things from the past that people do not want repeated. One such example that people don’t want to experience again is war, which brings about death and famine. It is helpful for a foreigner to know about the countries who waged war in the past, because at present there are still races that have prejudices towards those countries they have waged war with. Koreans who goes for a vacation in Japan would usually be discriminated, because of the locals still having the memories of the past wars. It will also be helpful if a non-Korean would refrain from talking about Korea in front of the Japanese.

In addition to history, the culture of a country should also be closely studied by immigrants, because they would need to align their values according to the locals’ view. It is difficult for people to get along if they have differing life opinions, so it is important for immigrants to know about the values of locals through learning their culture. Everyday life activities of locals are based on their culture, so it is best to have the culture of a country mastered. It will not only help the immigrants adjust, but also the locals.