Write about the following topic: Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Large numbers of urban areas are dealing with home crisis as they are not able to supply enough spaces for additional homes. Few local governments suggest that the problem could be avoided by using the park land for constructing more houses. But in my opinion, doing so will only cause more harm to the environment and delay the problem rather than solving it.

The demolition of park land would cause open spaces to decrease. Although, the contribution might be small, but they contain certain amount of trees, flowers and other habitat which contributes to the ecosystem. Converting them into building infrastructures completely wipes out their efforts. Thus, such activities would cause negative impact on the environment. For instance, cutting down trees and plants in the park land would mean they won’t be producing oxygen anymore which have major impact on the surroundings.

Conversion of park land into more houses won’t solve the main problem, which is overpopulation and centralization. People are migrating to the major cities for better opportunities, creating necessity for more houses. Thus, adding houses alone rather than solving the issue won’t address it. It will only add more time and the problem will arise again. For example, in Canada, the migration of students into the country for education has created shortage of residents. Hence, the government has restricted the entry and increased the document requirements to filter out students, which was found to be successful strategy.

In conclusion, most of the famous cities are being concerned with increasing needs for land due to insufficient buildings. While, few government suppose the problem being solved with conversion of park lands, this step is not to be considered wise because of the harm it causes on the environment and not being the permanent solution to the problem. In my opinion using parkland temporarily, while focusing on the solution would be better.