Write about the following topic: Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The ever increasing migration towards the cities has caused a housing shortage. Many city governments are trying to solve this issue by changing the zoning of park land in order to allow the development of new residential complexes. The need for housing has led some people to accept the reduction of parks from cities.

Urban public parks have a very important role as they are the green lung of cities. Trees and plants can reduce the amount of pollutants present in the air. Parks offer to residents a safe place to walk or exercise while being away from traffic. People can use parks as a meeting place to held many different activities such as sports, picnics, or to just relax.

Furthermore, there are many measures that could be enacted by city governments to fight the housing crisis. For instance, there could be some forms of rent control to avoid speculation and skyrocketing prices. Cities could also invest on improving public transit and road infrastructures to allow people to live in the suburbs by easing their commute into the city.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the proposal of dismantling public parks to build apartment blocks because urban land is already overdeveloped. New constructions would only temporarily ease pressure on the real estate market. On the contrary, city governments should focus on recovering and refurbishing buildings that are empty or abandoned. For instance, the spread of remote working has emptied many office spaces whose owners struggle to find tenants. The authorities should facilitate this process by streamling bureaucracy to allow easier zoning changes.