Write about the following topic: Some people believe that in the future, environmental problems will mean that we are unable to live on this planet. In order to survive, the human species will need to find another planet that can support life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While the advancement of science and technology benefits the well-being of mankind, it is undeniable that the planet and environment that we live in are at risk due to these developments. Witnessing the current environmental problems, people begin to be afraid that one day, we will be unable to live on this earth and find alternatives, such as another planet that can support life. While I think preparing in advance for the new planet is a good step, I believe that it is more feasible to preserve our own planet before it is too late.

One reason for this argument is that space discoveries are usually quite expensive and time-consuming. To clearly mention, there is no guarantee that we will be able to find a planet that humans can live in. Therefore, I personally believe that finding another planet is not a tangible measure. Rather than investing in alternative planet discovery, it would be more effective to use financial resources to tackle the environmental problems that we are currently experiencing and prevent future climate issues. There is no doubt that this is more achievable and sustainable.

To preserve our current planet, contribution is required not only at the individual level but also at the national and international levels. Individually, everyone can participate in this process by taking mindful actions such as switching off the lights, using products with environmentally friendly packaging, and using public transport to reduce carbon emissions.

At the national level, the government should implement legislative measures such as imposing “green tax” on all individuals and corporations that cause pollution. Canada and New Zealand are good examples of the success of these taxes. Furthermore, it would be the most effective to execute and implement the global environmental preservation plans at the international level. These kinds of collective actions are normally large-scale and can be the most effective.

In a nutshell, even though we are facing frequent climate issues and environmental problems, this does not mean that we cannot solve them. Therefore, rather than trying to figure out a new place that is costly and intangible, it would be more feasible to preserve our current planet.