Write about the following topic: Some people believe that in the future, environmental problems will mean that we are unable to live on this planet. In order to survive, the human species will need to find another planet that can support life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many individuals -worry- about the future of our planet, they believe that planet earth will soon be inhabitable because of the damange that humans have caused. And the only solution is escaping to a new planet, colonising it and starting a new life on it. While I agree that the our ecosystem is deteriorating, but I don’t think that leaving this planet is the most optimal solution in our current situation.

Migrating more than seven billion human to another planet is a no easy task. This process needs high technological advancements in each and every field, notably energy and space exploration. Furthermore, we lack the knowledge of any habitable planet, whether its a planet that can support life natively, or a planet that needs alterations in order to make it earth-like. The process of finding a planet that satisfies our needs takes long periods of time, and as we all know, we dont have much time. For instance, exploration of neighboring planets by NASA is performed by sending sattelites to orbit these planets and collect data. This journey takes serveral tens of years only to reach the orbit, and more years to collect data and return back to earth.

However, I believe that the solution to this problem is easier, cheaper, and most importantly, faster. The solution is to reverse the enviromental damage that we caused to our earth, it might be challeging but it’s more doable than conditioning a new planet for life. In fact, we are already have the technology and knowledge to do this, and many measures are already implemented to help heal our planet. Electric cars are a very good example, many developed countries have agreed to stop manufaturing fuel powered cars by 2025, and ban the circulation of this type of cars by 2030. This helps eliminate one of the biggest sources of polution and replace it with a cleaner alternative.

In coclusion, while escaping to another planet to escape the eventual collapse of our environment might be a solution, but I believe that humanity is still not ready for this kind of endeavor. I believe that saving our planet is the best thing that we can do, as we have the means to do so, and we are already applying many techniques that help in making our planet more sustainable.