Write about the following topic: Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge

It is not easy to tell what is the main purpose of entering and graduating from college with a bachelor’s degree. One school of thought is that tertiary education is determined to provide students with better chances in their future careers. Another possibility is that universities have more to offer than just equipping students for high-paying jobs. While universities could open doors to successful job opportunities, my view is that they will also focus on developing essential life skills and fostering personal growth.

On the one hand, it can be argued that promotions at work are one of human’s biggest desires in one’s lifetime. Therefore, it requires educational establishments to spot well-paid careers as the main driving force in their teaching courses. For instance, a student graduating from this kind of academic system may just prioritize his own benefits of earning a living over contributions to society progress. Hence, it is clear that the responsibility of higher education is to establish a more balanced teaching curriculum.

On the other hand, there are people who believe that students should be taught not only hard skills serving as tools for money-making, but also soft skills and interpersonal skills after years at college. I share this opinion for several reasons. First of all, the educational institution has a role to play in nurturing and developing maturity in their learners’ mindset. Thanks to this, students will be able to establish critical thinking and problem solving skills for evaluating different perspectives and resolving conflicts. On top of that, higher education is about more than just helping students climb in their career ladders. It is to shape them into well-rounded individuals who willingly contribute chances to society and show respect towards others, regardless of social status or gender. Last but not least, universities should encourage students to think outside the box and open their minds to new ideas. In this way, our society will cultivate a youthful, energetic workforce who can bring new advancements and make meaningful impacts to the world.

To conclude, it seems to me that it is the role of universities to foster creativity and innovation in the schooling environment. However, I strongly recommend that tertiary education also offer practical lessons to ensure students are well-prepared for earning a living. By striking a balance between these aspects, we will be able to create a generation of talented and responsible citizens who can contribute to the overall growth of the society.