Write about the following topic: Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement

A certain segment of the population believes that having a fixed retirement age for all workers, irrespective of the nature of the job, is unfair. They argue that certain categories of workers should be entitled to retire and receive a pension at a younger age. In my opinion, I totally agree with this notion, and in this essay, I will discuss the reasons for my stance.

To begin with, industries comprise varied occupations, which can primarily be categorized based on the effort required in job performance. People engaged in physically demanding jobs, such as manual labour and sports, can only work up to a certain age limit and often have to retire early. Therefore, allowing them to receive a pension upon retirement would benefit them and even encourage the younger generation to pursue such career paths. For instance, Cristiano Ronaldo won numerous accolades in soccer but had to retire at the age of 43. There is no denying that the contributions made by athletes are immense and valuable for a nation’s global recognition.

Additionally, physical workers in factories, construction, the army, and the navy are required to undergo physical fitness tests biannually. Over time, it becomes increasingly difficult to meet the required fitness standards. Their contributions to the nation are of utmost importance, and for this reason, they deserve the option of receiving early retirement benefits. For example, the retirement age for army commissioners in Japan is set at 55, after which they must retire.

On the contrary, corporate and desk jobs can be continued until the age of 65, as they are not physically demanding. Therefore, having a standard retirement age for such occupations seems fair.