Write about the following topic: Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

t is thought by some individuals that old buildings and houses in cities should be replaced by modern structures. Others believe that we must protect ancient buildings.

On the one hand, modernization is vital for urbanization. Building modern infrastructues and housings are important as globally modern architecture becoming popular and it attracts tourists when those buildings are built with special features and facilities. For instane, Hotel Oderberger is one of the popular and luxurous hotel located in Berlin city in German. Hundred years ago this hotel was a small building with a small swimming pool and it was converted into a luxurious hotel where thousands of tourist attracted to visit there.

On the other hand, protecting ancient and historically valued buildings and proprties are vital as it gives a significant value for a country. Even in present-day there are people who value the antique buildings with a high demand. Some ancient buildings has a historical story related to its importance. For example, in Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka, there are buildings that were built by ancient kings and still there are protected and tourists visit to witness the beauty of ancient architecture,

In my point of view, I believe the modernization and protecting the ancient infrastructure is depends on the value of the each architecture. If that specific building has a value we should protect them and if it is not changing the structures according to modern architecture is not a big issue.

In conclusion, building modern housings and buildings is a key for urbanization, while preserving old buildings is one of the key factors for tourist attraction. Thus, using each building according to their values is important.