Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Social media is a medium through which we keep in touch with our friends and families as well as use as a tool for information. Many people are divided on this topic – some see it as a method for progress, others believe it can bring out the worst in people. This essay will consider both narratives.

In the past, we would become informed by the news. This would be filtered through and approved by editors and we would only be privy to the information we are fed. Social media has changed this. For example, the unrest in Gaza. Since 7th October last year, our feeds have been flooded with first-hand accounts from people on the ground. Both sides share what is happening, giving the victims a voice. Being able to see the unfiltered news at our fingertips has allowed us to empathise and connect with individuals who may need help. I would say this is a positive outcome of social media.

However, as much as there is value to unmediated news, there is also a vast amount of propaganda being fed through to our screens. For instance, anyone can post anything, and to the uneducated, this becomes gospel. Moderators only view the post if it has been flagged. In this way, misinformation can be spread causing divisions in an already divided world.

Personally, I have seen the positives of social networking. I am able to stay informed of current affairs, listening to the voices that yearn to be heard. I believe it is the responsibility of the individual to carry out due diligence to ensure they are not swept up in propaganda, therefore eliminating the negative effects that can arise.