Write about the following topic: The working week should be shorter, and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people may think that having more working days is a good thing while others may believe workers should have more days off at weekends. I agree that employees should have longer weekends depending on the type of job.

There are various reasons why having more working days in a week is necessary. Firstly, in many job roles such as customer support or IT support, the revenue generated for the company is based on the number of hours people work. Secondly, the services provided by health care workers and emergency respondants such as doctors, nurses, cops and firefighters are needed even during the weekends especially when they are understaffed. For instance, doctors in india work more than 12 hours a day and they also work during weekends due to the worker shortage.

On the other hand, having an extended weekend will improve the work-life balance of the workers.As a result people get to spend more time with family and kids. If employees get more time during their weekends, they will travel and shop more, which will in turn boost the economy. Furthermore, working more hours may cause exaustion and decrease the productivity of the workers in long run. Numerous studies show that the productivity declines when the number of working hours extends beyond 35 hours per week. So longer weekends for workers should be based on their profession.

In conclusion, working more weekdays might be suitable for some professions where it is required. However, the employees in other jobs should have the perks of longer weekend.