Write about the following topic: The world of work is changing rapidly and employees cannot depend on having the same job or the same working conditions for life. Discuss the possible causes for this rapid change, and suggest ways of preparing people for the world of work in the future. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In traditional ways of working, having a job meant having security for life. While this remains an idealistic view, the reality has been changing rapidly. In recent years, we have stepped into a new age of inventions fit to handle grub work initally undertaken by low-level employees. AI has made a majority of jobs obsolete, and the conditions will continue changing more drastically over the next few decades.

The way we work no longer depends on our job, but rather, on how hollistic our skill set is. The uprising of social media and influencers has pushed many traditional careers out of the spotlight. The only chnace of recovery is by promotion of businesses and services using platforms like Instagram and TikTok. Moreover, there has been a surge in individuals who freelance or open their small business ventures. The only way to succeed in these highly profitable fields of work is through marketing oneself in a creative format, so as to catch the attention of the audience.

In my opinion, the new era of employment focuses on individuals’ creativity and design thinking, as opposed to just their technical qualifications. For example, an applicant who is well versed in creative direction while applying for a management position would be preferred over someone with knowledge of business management and nothing more. A unique skillset catches the eye of an employer, more than just proficiency in one sector.

In order to deal with the changing scenarios, I think individuals should opt for short courses in various soft skills to diversify their portfolios, and become better versions of themselves.