Write about the following topic: Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a 'fat tax' is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Consuming food that is not healthy causes a negative effect on both the people as well as the society in which they reside due to which a few individuals believe that the government should begin taxing these unhealthy meals while there are others that argue that such a ‘fat tax’ is not fair and necessary. While this essay agrees that taxation of these types of food is needed, it also takes into consideration of the latter argument and suggests ways of alternative methods.

Eatables that comprises of a lot of fat, sugar and chemicals which makes it unhealthy for consumption should be taxed heavily. This is because ingesting these types of foods over a long period of time could result in a lot of life threatening diseases at a very young age and the aim of raising the tax for these items is to make them unaffordable for the general public which would then compel them to look out for healthier options. By following this advice, the government can force a lot of fast food restaurants to include healthier options in their menus so that they can escape from the losses in revenue as well as jobs that would come into the picture once this is implemented.

Implying taxes need not be the only solution to this problem, warning signs can be put up on the packets of these food products implicating that consuming this in the long run can pose serious health risks and the government can monitor if these companies are putting these signs on their products by forming regulatory bodies and can impose fines on these firms if they don’t adhere to it. Trying to make nutritious meals taste as good as the unhealthy ones is another way to promote healthy eating as a lot of people eat food for their deliciousness.

In conclusion, while the ultimate goal is to reduce the number of people eating unhealthy food through the means of taxation, other methods can be looked into as well.