Write about the following topic: Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a 'fat tax' is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The rise of fast food, processed items, and sugary items like candy comes with both benefits and significant drawbacks. These types of food are considered to be convenient, inexpensive, and easily accessible. However, they can be pinned down to the cause of a variety of health diseases such as diabetes, a rise in cholesterol, and many more. Because of this, some people believe that the government should implement a tax on unhealthy food items.

A “fat tax” is believed to be an effective way to reduce the frequency of purchases of food that could harm your body if taken in large amounts. Paying more for an item that deserves less may discourage individuals from spending on these goods, therefore reducing the intake of unhealthy food. This can also encourage people to shift their focus to purchasing organic goods that are much more nutritious for the body. Moreover, it can help in reducing the amout og sweets consumed by children as well, which can contribute to lowering rates of child obesity.

On the other hand, others argue that this sort of tax is unnecessary and unfair. People who have a higher household income or who have more disposable income, they would be willing to purchase these unhealthy items regardless of the tax on them. Therefore, the main intention of the implementation is futile. Furthermore, the main demographic targeted through foods like candy, sweets, and chocolates is children. While the problem of child obesity is a prominent issue in society, this problem only affects a small portion of children, some of whom may have genetic disorders contributing to obesity. Whereas, a large proportion of children who can try different types of food should be able to enjoy the thrill of savouring a lollipop or a piece of chocolate. Similarly, this tax can unfairly affect individuals who are healthy and consistently eat a balanced diet.

To conclude, I believe that instead of having a “fat tax”, governments should try to invest in methods that involve educating the public on potential health risks that certain foods may bring. These can be done through online webinars, social media posts, posters, and advertisements, which can help a wide majority of people to learn more about staying healthy and restricting themsleves form endulgin in nutritionally poor food.