Today family members eat fewer meals together. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In today’s society, family members are sharing fewer meals together. This trend is mainly driven by nowadays’ fast-paced routine. I do believe that not eating together affects society negatively, as families’ bonds become more loosen and it might spark a feeling of regret in the long run.

Fast paced life results in a chaotic routine, in which individuals are forced to prioritise certain habits rather than others. Most individuals endures an instense working routine and many hours are lost in daily activities such as commuting. Consequently, at the end of the day, the exhaustion can make people prefer eating something quick instead of sharing a meal with their families, especially as dining together often consumes more time and effort. Additionally, in many houses, family members have different schedules. Thus, conciliating the chaotic routine and family meals can be challenging to working families.

As a consequence, family bonds are weakening, which is highly detrimental to society. Human beings have always relied on their inner circle to survive. As social beings, they seek a sense of togetherness. In turn, this has usually been associated with family ties. If the sense of belonging is minimized, the individual might feel lonely in the long-term. Moreover, is is common that individuals regret not having spend time with their loved ones later on in life. By reducing the frequency of having meals together, this shared time becomes even less significant. Hence, it can spark regret in the long run.

In summary, eating meals with their families is becoming less common in today’s world. Since individuals are weakening their bonds with their blood-related ones and it is likely to foster remorse in the future, this trend can cause negative impact as a whole.