WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Shopping is increasing in popularity as a leisurely activity. Some people believe that there are positive effects from shopping, including easier social interactions and a boost in the economy. Others believe in negative effects stemming from higher spending rates and higher demands. Both effects have an impact on the individual and society.

Shopping may be more popular due to more malls being built in the country. The result is more people being able to shop at a time. Due to increasing population sizes, there are also more people entering the malls. Shopping is also more popular because of trends being popularised by TV shows, movies and advertisements. A person may want to buy something they saw from an advertisement because they believe it can improve their quality of life.

Some people believe that the increase in the popularity of shopping has positive effects both on the individual and society. A positive effect for the person involves easier social interactions with other people. Shopping malls provide another place for people to connect. For a benefit to society, increased spending habits lead to more benefits in the economy. The government now has more funds that it can use to improve the lives of its residents, improve military power or build more malls.

Others believe that the increase in the popularity of shopping leads to negative effects on the individual and society. Individually, spending habits tend to increase in tandem with shopping. This could lead to lower financial stability for the average household, as the person now has an extra cost to worry about. For society, the demand for more malls increases as a result of shopping. The government may have to clear new land for malls. This could lead to negative environmental effects, such as deforestation.

In summary, one group believes that shopping malls are an easy place to interact with people and also believes that the government can improve society using them. Another group believes that higher spending affects the person’s household negatively, while higher demand affects the environment of society negatively. Care must be taken by the government to ensure the advantages outweigh the disadvantages and to not put shopping malls in excess.