Many parents are unhappy because of the increasing amount of violence in their children by computer games, TV programs and other leisure activities. What are the harmful effects of such violent programs on children? What are the solutions for this problem?

It is undeniable that violence in entertainment media for children such as TV, video games has been influencing children’s behaviors. This essay will discuss the effect of violence media which are increasing rude behavior and reducing concentration on children. Moreover, the solutions will be discussed which are limiting screen time and attending family activities and examples will be described in detail.

Due to the advancement of technologies, it is more convenient for children to access entertainment media compared to in the past. Violence media such as violent movies, gun shot video games as well as music is considered as a detrimental media to children. Children are in the process of development. With the consumption of harmful media, they easily get involved in harmful activities such as playing with guns, and adapt rude and impolite behavior to society. Furthermore, time consuming media will possibly affect children’s concentration. Children can spend their time playing on mobile devices without interacting with the surroundings. Consequently, without mobile devices, they could feel a lack of patience and cannot concentrate on daily life such as reading books and drawing. The use of violent media could affect life in the long term such as ADHD or depression. It is a growing concern that these mental disorders could be triggered by social media as well as aggressive media. Even though children could feel more comfortable spending time alone in the stimulation world, without feeling achievement from the media such as failure to win the game could give them a hopeless feeling which leads to mental disorders.

In order to reduce these problems, parents need to control their use of devices by limiting screen time and attending more family activities. Family plays a vital role in how children behave. With more time spent with family such as traveling, playing board games, or watching movies together, children will feel more affection from their family and achieve their basic needs which is love.

In conclusion, even though there is a growing of violence media for children’s leisure, families are still the first protection barrier for children. It is essential for parents to take care of children’s screen time and spend time with them.