Today family members eat fewer meals together. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Sharing time and meals with family members fosters bonding, togetherness and deep connection. It has been observed that nowadays most of the family is experiencing a decline in meal time together. This essay will elucidate the causes and its negative trend of the given statement in the following subsequent paragraphs.

Having a hectic schedule for every family individual is one of the dominant reasons for reduction in meal time together. To expound, both parents are working and hustling with their day-to-day activities such as rushing to workspaces in morning, preparing food for breakfast and lunch and dropping kids to schools. This is making all of the family members schedule busy, occupied and hectic through the day. Moreover, it is limiting a time in evening as well to sit, chat and discuss the day with their loved ones. To exemplify, families living in major cities have experiencing a rush weekday and have minimum energy by end of day to prepare a dinner, for conversation and building connection with their children. Therefore, city life making an individual busy and occupied and leaving with limited time for having a meal together.

Indeed, this is a concerning trend and creating a fracture in family bonds. In other words, people are forgetting the value of sharing, caring and togetherness inculcates through family gathering. This is pushing children in more isolation, coping with social skills and ultimately in mental stress. In result, this is rupturing the very basic foundation of family bond in longtime. To cite an example, UN Survey indicates an alarming rate of mental distress and tension in family due to declining family meal times. Hence, this trend is serious reflection on society.

To recapitulate, both parents have dominating profession over the personal life and failing to less time to spend with family and shares the day and bonding. Indeed, this is trending to a serious and concerning for children and pushing towards mental distress and tension.