Today family members eat fewer meals together. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Family is an indispensable aspect of an individual’s life. It is argued that in the recent years, it has become increasingly common for family members to eat separately rather than sharing meals together. This essay sheds light on several relevant insights associated to the given statement and establishes a conclusion.

One of the principal reasons is busy schedules. Individuals have been working more than the normal working hours since the last few decades. Competition is increasing tremendously and to survive human need to work harder and for longer duration than their ancestors. Moreover, the increased inclusion of technology is another reason. As the technology has become an immense part of an individual’s life. One spent more time on their devices than that spent with one another. Moreover, the change in family structure is another contributor as in the nuclear family parents are usually working. Parents are so caught up in fulfilling the necessities of the child. However, the offspring need time. Fulfilling all the necessities is not all that required.

The impacts caused by this are quite minacious, such as weak family relationships. It has been observed that the family cohesion among parents and offsprings is reducing. This is resulting in change in family dynamics. Another consequence is mental health. As individuals are unable to share their worries with their loved ones. This is resulting in increased stress and poor sleep quality.

Conclusively, having discussed in detail several pertinent aspects, it can be undeniably stated that sharing fewer meals together with family is a matter of growing concern and should be taken care of.