WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, every nation and individual has their own native language. As languages like English, Spanish, and Chinese become more popular around the world, some people worry that local languages may disappear, therefore some countries are trying to protect them. It is important for governments to protect languages of their nation to keep their culture.

Language is the culture of people. People should keep their language because it helps them remember their history and traditions. Without their language, people can lose who they are and feel lost. Different languages express ideas and emotions in unique ways. When only a few major languages dominate, we risk losing valuable ways of thinking. For instance, thanks to their native language, people can pass on their history and stories to the next generations. This helps keep their culture alive and connects young people

However, international languages help people communicate with others from different countries. When many people learn these common languages, it becomes simpler to share ideas, work together, and build friendships around the world. This helps the global community to connect and co- operate more effectively. Nevertheless, saving local languages shows respect and helps people feel confidently in society.