WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

With the rising popularity of languages like English, Spanish and Mandarin, some people are concerned that the minority languages might disappear. To counter such an issue, different countries already took actions to preserve less spoken languages.

At the first glance, this problem looks inevitable, but diving deep into the problem, there are many reasons that makes this problem to be less likely to happen. This essay will discuss those reasons.

Although English, Spanish and Mandarin are gaining popularity, it does not necessarily mean that less spoken languages risk to disappear. The main reason for that is the expansion of internet, allowing it to be easily accessible to everyone to learn any language anytime and anywhere. Therefore, people will continue learning new languages even if they are less popular.

Moreover, despite of the increasing number of bilingual people around the world, individuals still choose to speak their native language whenever they can, as people feel more comfortable and confident talking fluently. Furthermore, native language are taught in all public schools in countries all over the world.

So sum up, while it is indeed correct that English, Spanish and Mandarin are becoming more widely spoken, I believe that the chances of less popular languages to vanish is extremely low due to the creation of applications such as duolingo that help teach endangered languages.