WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: More and more people nowadays visit well-known places to take photographs of themselves, without looking at the place. Why do you think this is happening? Is it a positive or a negative trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

A lot of people nowadays visit popular places to take photographs of themselves, without paying attention to the place. This is happening because of social media and I believe that it is a negative trend because individuals overlook the significance of that place and their purpose of visit is to get attention on social media apps.

Due to the rise in the use of the social media apps, people watch the videos and photos of the celebrities and influencers visiting those prominent places. These celebrities take pictures and post them on apps like instagram and facebook to get followers and likes from people. These videos and posts influence the followers to do the same. Therefore, more and more people these days carry good quality cameras and smartphones as an important thing of their travel essentials. To illustrate, Alia Bhatt, a famous indian celebrity posted a picture of visiting Burj Khalifa in Dubai and later people created a trend to post pictures at the same place with same pose and angle.

It is a negative trend as individuals often do not explore and give attention to the significance of that place. They do not try to understand the history of that place which makes the efforts of visiting that place not worth it. Moreover, the purpose of their travel is get attention on social media by posting those pictures. For this reason, they sometimes miss to enjoy those moments with friends and family. They spend all the time to click pictures with right frame, angle and posture. These things often lead to disconnection between people and history. For example, a lot of people do not know the history of Golden Temple which is one of the famous tourist destination in India.

In conclusion, more and more people are visiting well – known places to take pictures without exploring them. Social Media is the reason of this trend as people get influence by posts and videos of influencers. This is a negative trend as they do not pay attention to the significance of that place and their intention is to get likes on social media by posting those pictures.