WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

There has been a growing debate about the role that pharmaceutical companies can play in reducing the mortality rate of curable diseases in developing countries. Most people are of the opinion that making their products available at a cheaper price will help combat the high death rate in these countries. I will also be aligning with these proposition for the following reasons:

Firstly, making drugs for diseases such as malaria, tuberculosis, etc. affordable will stem the tide of death in people who have these diseases in developing countries. For example, when drugs are cheaper, more people are able to afford them and in return, use them for their ailments, which will then lead to high recovery rate.

Secondly, affordable drugs lead to an increase in awareness as more people get to pass positive reviews on the drugs to a larger populace. It is easier to talk about the efficacy of drug when it is much more affordable. I remember whenever pharmaceutical companies come to make a presentation of their drugs to some of our patients, after rolling out all the statistics of how effective it was during the trial phase, the question that usually solidifies the awareness, is if the advertised drug is affordable to the populace.

Lastly, a cheaper drug will be readily accessible in the country as most pharmacies will have it in stock in large quantities, which will make it easier for individuals to purchase within their community, rather than travelling far and wide in order to get the drugs.

In conclusion, the importance of cheap medications cannot be underestimated, as it usually lead to affordability, increase awareness and accessibility. These in return reduced the death rate of people suffering from curable diseases in poor countries.