Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. The use of corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behaviour. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Today, there is a decline of the use of corporal punishment on students. However, many individuals believe that it is an useful approach to discipline misbehaved students, and this traditional method should continue implementing on them. In my opinion, corporal punishment is not equally effective as other approaches to address students’ misbehaviours.

Firstly, corporal punishment promotes violence among students. Students may assume physical punishment is appropriate and can be used on people who make mistakes. As a result, they may apply the same punishment on people who misbehaved in schools. In addition, student are likely to fight with each other in schools. Furthermore, some students often be the victims of the fights, and leading to mental heath issues. This indeed causes a vicious cycle if teachers continue using corporal punishment on students.

Secondly, physically hitting misbehaved students usually does not solve the root of their problems. Students would be fearful to go back to school, and this could affect their academic performance negatively. Furthermore, it is harmful to their wellbeing and growth. In my opinion, there are many alternative approaches in teaching young children, for example community services. This method shows students positive values, such as kindness, empathy, and honesty. Most importantly, they can learn to contribute to society and other unfortunate people.

To sum up, corporal punishment brings negative impacts to students and it should not be implementing on them. Therefore, governments should focus on other effective methods in teaching young children, for instance regular community services. It would a positive development for students if they can give back to society.