WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the present era, competition has become a very common issue among people all over the world. Many people believe that competition has numerous merits, while others think it has a few drawbacks as well. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the issue and present my opinion. To begin with, it is quite difficult to decide whether competition is beneficial for human beings or not. We need to analyze the issue from different perspectives. A significant number of people believe that competition plays a vital role in our present society. It has a considerable impact on present social, moral, and economic factors. Moreover, some individuals think that competition has very positive effects on the modern world. For example, a report published by “The Daily Star” stated that more than 80% of people can lead better lives because of competition.

On the other hand, it can be argued that there are some downsides to competing as it has several harmful effects on our community, creating global problems. It is responsible for multiple drawbacks that cause negative results not only in our society but also in our everyday life lives. The most concerning point is that there is no easy way out of these situations.

To conclude, there is no doubt that competition has both positive and negative sides. However, I believe that it is essential for people in the present time, despite the arguments against it. Moving forward, it is imperative to adopt a balanced approach that maximizes the benefits of competition while mitigating its drawbacks.