WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many people believe that educational standards have declined in recent times, particularly in the area of literacy and numeracy. Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it Write at least 250 words

People believe that students’ literacy and numeracy skills have declined in the past few years. Several factors have contributed to this issue. Especially the rapid development of technology, which plays a significant role in the decline. This essay will discuss the problem and suggest some solutions.

It is true that people’s reliance on modern devices is increasing along with the advancements in technology. This is understandable because the convenience that technology brings to our daily life is immeasurable. However, the decrease in literacy and numeracy skills is largely caused by the dependence on technology among students. Nowadays, when typing on computers, grammatical errors are often automatically autocorrected by the software. Although, this seems like not a big deal, it actually has negative impacts on users’ literacy skills. Moreover, students often bring a calculator along with them, although the calculator allows students to solve many complex mathematical problems, this habit negatively affects students’ numeracy skills. Consequently, the overuse of calculator has increased. For example, students may even rely on calculator for the easiest answer which can be easily done mentally.

To address this problem, efforts are required from the governments, schools, and students themselves. The governments should introduce reform in the education system, which fosters critical thinking and solving skills of the students. Schools should organize more outdoor activities for students to learn useful life skills. Finally, by decreasing screen time and reliance on technology, students can not only develop healthy habits, but also improve their mental strength.

To summarize, everything takes time to change. But with collected efforts from people, solving this problem is only the matter of time.