WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The most essential goal of science should be to improve people’s lives. In recent years science has played a crucial role in shaping modern society, leading to significant advances in medicine, technology and communication. While some people believe that the most important aim of science is to improve human life, others argue that science should pursue knowledge for its own purposes. I totally agree that enhancing people’s quality of life should be the primary aim of science, including both, immediate and long-term benefits.

One reason why science should prioritise human well-being is its contribution to health and quality of life. Medical research and development has eliminated numerous diseases that were considered fatal in the past, now can be effectively prevented or treated due to the development of vaccines, antibiotics and advanced surgical techniques that saved millions of lives. For example, advanced cancer treatment and organ transplantations have increased life expectancy and improved patients’ quality of life. Without scientific innovation, modern healthcare wouldn’t be as effective as it is today.

However, some individuals believe that science should not be restricted on specific goals and current problems because many important scientific discoveries have been made with no obvious practical purpose. For instance, early studies in physics were highly theoretical and only in the future were applied as the foundation in computer and other modern technologies.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that improving people’s lives should be the primary aim for science because it promotes better health, greater convenience and sustainable development. Nevertheless, society should continue supporting fundamental research, as today’s theoretical knowledge can become tomorrow’s life-changing innovations.