Writing WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Wite at least 250 words

In the modern world most business companies indicate that their products are new. Definitely, advertising tends to attract the attention of consumers by focusing on the novelty of products. As for me, I suppose, that this is rather positive development than negative one.

First of all, innovation drives the development of technology and scientific research. Companies are interested in constantly improving their products, offering new solutions and improving their performance. I am of the strong opinion, that this things contribute to improving the quality of life of the population, improving the environment and economic growth of the country.

Secondly, thanks to the development of new products, customers get more choice. The constant updating of the assortment allows customers to choose products that meet modern requirements and expectations, for instance, walking route trackers that can automatically generate new routes. Based on the evidence, I believe that these innovations make life more comfortable for humanity. Advertising also informs people about new products, which is very convenient.

On the other hand, aggressive emphasis on advertising can lead to a person buying unnecessary goods and, as a result, environmental problems. Companies develop new products and use advertising to force the purchase of new things. This increases the amount of waste that pollutes the environment. Customers become victims of marketing by buying unnecessary items and wanting to match trends.

To sum up, nowadays modern companies often highlight in their advertising the fact that their products have a certain degree of novelty. After careful consideration I am of the opinion that it is positive development, when the choice of a new product is based on the real needs of the buyer, and not on the emotional impulses caused by advertising.