Writing WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Wite at least 250 words

Nowadays, many businesses try to show that their products are new or improved in some way. This is a common strategy in advertising. In this essay, I will explain why companies do this and give my opinion on whether it is a good or bad thing.

One reason why businesses focus on “new” products is because people are often interested in trying something different. When a company says its product is new, it can catch the attention of customers. People may think that the new product is better or more useful than the old one. For example, phone companies often say that their new model has a better camera or faster speed. This makes people want to buy the latest version.

Another reason is that companies want to stand out from their competitors. There are many similar products in the market, so businesses need to find a way to be different. By saying their product is new or improved, they hope more people will choose it instead of others.

In my opinion, this can be both positive and negative. It is positive when the product really has something new or helpful. For example, if a new washing machine uses less water and energy, it is good for both the customer and the environment. However, sometimes companies say a product is new when it is not very different. This can be misleading and make people waste money.

In conclusion, businesses advertise their products as new to attract customers and compete in the market. This can be good if the changes are real, but it can also be negative if it is only a trick to sell more.