You should spend about 40 minutes on this question. Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer, and provide ideas and examples from your own experience. You should write at least 250 words.

With the development of tourism sectors in these modern days, there comes a notion about charging foreign visitors a higher rate of culture and history-related tourism. Personally, it appears to me that this proposal could be an impractical aspiration for reasons that we shall discuss below.

Foremost among the arguments appear to be the negative effect that this idea can bring about on the destination itself. A negative image that the attraction may receive could be one of the examples, where foreign visitors presume that tourism operators have been preoccupied with materialism and racism. Accordingly, this circumstance would make these tourists visit other tourist objects in other countries with a more affordable price, a more hospitable environment, and better corporate governance without them feeling discriminated. It is widely accepted that maintaining a memorable impression is essential, which is deemed more effective than an advertisement in how tourism should be promoted.

Looking from another perspective, it seems true that it is necessary to charge foreign visitors a higher pay so that the proceed of which can be used for the development of the destination itself, thus attracting more prospective tourists in the end. However, I think that this proposition is not always true in all cases. Borobudur, for instance, remains able to improve its facilities and infrastructures in spite of the fact that it charges its visitors the same rate regardless of their citizenship. In fact, more tourists visit this place, which means more benefits could contribute to not only the site itself but also to individuals surrounding it whose life heavily depends on it.

Taking everything into account, I would argue that it would be wiser for authorities to implement an equal-price policy for all visitors irrespective of their nationality background for the sake of preserving the good image of tourism of a country, and encouraging verbal promotion among foreign tourists. It is expected that by doing so, this could allow more people to visit, thus benefiting local people surrounding the site area.