You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In the majority of worldwide countries, many people don’t use bicycle due to many road accidents .Therefore, govermnent should reinforce strong rules and regulations for road safety protecting the cyclists in particular and all of the road users in general.

Firstly, the use of bicycle is is economical, and efficient means of transport arround the world. For instance, the majority of people are categorized in the lower incomes earning; hence during their transportation facilities, they mostly prefer the use bicycle due to it’s lowest purchasing price and operation and maintenance cost as well. In Rwanda, bicycles are commonly used by high school students in going to schools and used also by most of the rural people from Eastern zone of Rwanda in different transport activities.

Secondly; a part from using bicycles in the business purpose, bicyles are also used in the sport activities for sustainable health cares services. For instance in different cycliste tours which are happaning periodically, in different Olympics games like “Tour of Rwanda” which is happening annually, and within the tour, talented cyclistes are rewarded for many prizes according to their level of performace, where some of them receive Gold medals, Bronze, other receives houses, cars, etc.

However, even if bicyles is the cheapest transport facility arround the world, it is the most sensitive one for many road accidents which takes the life of the majority of the cyclistes. For instance in Rwanda, the statistics recoded average of 500 deaths of cyclistes cases in each year while significant cases are recorded in the cities with about 1/2 and the rests in the rural areas.

In conclusion, cycliste should be careful in the road, and govermnent should take stong rules and regulations for road safety protecting the cyclistes in particular and all of the road users in general.