You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words. These tasks assess your ability to communicate effectively in written English, a key component of the IELTS General Training Writing test.

In most of countries, the demand of new accommodation increase. However, the rural areas are the only available places. Many individuals prefer to protect the rural towns and not raise new buildings there. I strongly agree with this opinion because it will affect the local agriculture and environment negatively.

Firstly, damaging cropland has chilling effects on society. Many countries depend on agriculture to enhance their economy by meeting the people’s needs from food without any external supply; moreover, they export their local goods to all over the world to enhance the country’s income. For example, Egypt is a pioneer in cotton growing because of its suitable climate and it gains high income from the cotton yearly. As a result, if the government of any country decides to replace farming land with buildings, the economy will probably be destroyed.

Secondly, healthy environment is significantly crucial to population’s health. Green plants absorb carbon dioxide and release oxygen in the air. It reduces pollution and some diseases like respiratory infections. Fresh air enhances your mental health and boosts your productivity at work. Therefore, if the countries need their inhabitants to be without any medical issues, they should expand green areas, not destroy it.

In conclusion, countries should search for alternative solutions for this problem instead of wasting the agricultural lands because it will be the mainstream reason for the economy crisis and the deterioration of the population’s health condition. So, I agree that countrysides are not the suitable solution for this problem.